Articles / Apartment Design

NZ Wood Resene Timber Design Awards 2018

Want to know more?

Contact us

Entries for NZ Wood-Resene Timber Design Awards close April 30

Supreme winner of the 2017 NZ Wood-Resene Timber Design Awards


New judges and new categories ensure the prestigious 2018 NZ Wood-Resene Timber Design Awards are even more exciting, says NZ Wood’s Promotion Manager Debbie Fergie. But Monday, April 30 is the last day to enter. “Entries are already coming in, but if we don’t have yours it can’t be considered, and nor can it provide a showcase for your expertise,” she points out.

This is New Zealand’s only timber design award which allows engineers, architects, architectural designers and builders to showcase their innovative projects using locally-sourced timber.
Entries must be of a building or structure completed between 1 March 2016 and 28 February 2018 that includes a significant amount of timber, be it structural or decorative.

However, the judges recognise that wood and wood products can be used in many innovative ways, and this year the “Wood and Fibre Creativity Award” category has been revised and expanded. This can include original uses of wood fibre properties, perhaps applying chemical or process innovations to form new products. Last year, the winner of this category produced essential oil from wilding pines, for example.

This year, a new category of “multi-storey timber building design” has been added to reflect the growing acceptance of wood, particularly engineered wood, as a viable and cost effective construction material.
This makes ten categories in total that are offered, including the very popular “Innovation of Student Design Award” that was introduced last year. Other categories open for entries are Residential Architectural Excellence, Commercial Architectural Excellence, Engineering Innovation, Excellence in Engineered Wood Products, Interior Innovation, Exterior Innovation and Infrastructure, and the NZ Specialty Timber Award.

The speed of construction that wood offers helps meet accommodation and office space demand across the country and New Zealand is recognised as an international leader in the field, says Ms Fergie. “Both local and international companies are looking to New Zealand for timber design inspiration,” she says.


Judges this year will be Pamela Bell, Prefab NZ; David Carradine, Timber Design Society; Tim Melville, NZ Institute of Architects; and Andrea Stocchero, Sustainable Architect, Scion.
Finalists will be announced on Monday, May 21 and will have until July 20 to prepare their final submissions.
A cash prize of $2,000 will be awarded to the winner of each of the nine categories, and studentwinners will each receive $1,000 and an all-expenses- paid trip to the gala awards.
Winners will be announced at a gala event at the Grand Millenium Hotel in Auckland on Thursday, September 20.

For a full list of entry criteria, and a timeline of entry submissions and judging announcements,
call Debbie on 021-807 002, email her at
or go to NZ Wood website

First published date: 10 April 2018

More news from Trends